Qualified patients can designate a caregiver to assist them, someone who has the legal right to assist with the medical use of marijuana (cannabis) and can legally purchase and possess it for use by that patient. Medical marijuana caregivers in Florida need to be authorized and get their own separate state Caregiver ID card in a certification process that’s similar to the way patients are approved. This process carries the same state fees for card issuance.
How to Become a Medical Marijuana Caregiver
To be authorized as a caregiver, our clinic has to add you to the patient’s profile in the Medical Marijuana Use Registry (MMUR). It’s fairly a simple process.
1. Make an appointment with our clinic and bring your driver’s license.
2. Sign consent forms, such as a HIPPA consent and an agreement to assist the patient.
3. We’ll collect some personal information to enter into the Registry. There is no clinic fee to register as a caregiver. As mentioned above, there is the state fee for ID card issuance.
There are a few requirements to become a medical marijuana caregiver:
- A caregiver must not be a qualified physician and not be employed by or have an economic interest in a medical marijuana treatment center.
- Be 21 years of age or older and a resident of Florida.
- Agree in writing to assist with the qualified patient’s medical use of marijuana.
- Be registered in the medical marijuana use registry as a caregiver for no more than one qualified patient (see below for exceptions to this rule)
- Successfully complete a caregiver certification course developed by the Medical Marijuana Use Registry, which must be renewed every 2 years. For more information on the Caregiver Certification Course, click here. This course is built into the Medical Marijuana Use Registry and is free of charge. The OMMU Caregiver Refresher Guide is available as a study tool.
- If not closely related to the patient, the caregiver will have to pass a background check.
Being a Caregiver for More Than 1 Qualified Patient
There may be some instances where a person may be registered as a designated caregiver for more than one qualified patient, such as:
- The caregiver is a parent or legal guardian of more than one minor who is a qualified patient.
- The caregiver is a parent or legal guardian of more than one adult who is a qualified patient and who has an intellectual or developmental disability that prevents the patient from being able to protect or care for himself or herself without assistance or supervision.
- All qualified patients the caregiver has agreed to assist are admitted to a hospice program and have requested the assistance of that caregiver with the medical use of marijuana; the caregiver is an employee of the hospice; and the caregiver provides personal care or other services directly to clients of the hospice in the scope of that employment.
Rules to Follow as a Caregiver
A caregiver must be in immediate possession of his or her medical marijuana use registry identification card at all times when in possession of marijuana or a marijuana delivery device and must present his or her medical marijuana use registry identification card upon the request of a law enforcement officer.
A caregiver may not receive compensation, other than actual expenses incurred, for any services provided to the qualified patient.
If you have any questions, or would like to set up an appointment for registering as a caregiver, feel free to contact us.