Edited/Updated: March 28, 2023
If you use medical marijuana, and plan on traveling, become familiar with the word “reciprocity.” First, do not travel with medical marijuana – transporting it across state lines, even between ‘legal’ states, can be considered illegal. So you need to know if the state you’re traveling to has 1) a medical marijuana program and 2) “reciprocity” with Florida, which means if that state accepts your Florida medical marijuana ID card.
Note, rules change often. The information provided below is only to get you started and may be updated/changed at any time. You should reach out to the state you are traveling to in order to confirm any rules.
Map courtesy of ProCon.org
Alabama Governor Kay Ivey signed a law in mid-2021 authorizing the use of medical cannabis for 16 different conditions. However, their Medical Cannabis Patient Registry System is currently being built. It could be the end of 2023 before eligible patients can start applying for medical cannabis here. This is good news for Alabama residents, but state law eliminated reciprocity for out-of-state patients. This means a Florida Medical Marijuana certification will not be accepted in Alabama.
Check with the state for the most up-to-date information: https://amcc.alabama.gov/
Allows for both recreational and medical marijuana. Out of state medical marijuana cards are not recognized, but any adult over 21 can purchase at a recreational dispensary.
“State law allows a visiting qualifying patient with a registry identification card or its equivalent, issued by the qualifying patient’s home state, to possess or use marijuana. However, a visiting patient is not authorized to obtain marijuana from an Arizona dispensary because the dispensary is required in statute to access a verification system before dispensing marijuana.”
Check with the state for the most up-to-date information: https://www.azdhs.gov/licensing/medical-marijuana/index.php
Those with a valid out-of-state medical recommendation and card can legally purchase medical marijuana in Arkansas, provided they fill out a visiting patient form and can provide proof of their out-of-state medical marijuana registration. Visiting patients also need to pay an application fee. If approved, a visiting patient may purchase medical marijuana in Arkansas for a 30-day period, per application.
Check with the state for the most up-to-date information: https://www.healthy.arkansas.gov/programs-services/topics/medical-marijuana
Recreational and medical cannabis are now available for anyone 21 or older with a valid government-issued identification. Consult the state for the most recent possession/cultivation limits.
Visitors (21 years old and over) to Colorado are allowed to buy cannabis if they have valid government-issued identification. Colorado is a state that has both legal cannabis for recreation and medical use.
Connecticut does not currently accept out-of-state medical marijuana ID card.
Delaware does not currently accept out-of-state medical marijuana ID card – only Delaware residents can apply.
State Website: https://dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dph/hsp/medmarfaq.html
Washington D.C. now accepts medical marijuana cards from other states. “Non-residents needing their medication while they are visiting the District will be able to patronize the District’s regulated marijuana dispensaries and obtain their medication,” according to a release from the city. Officials also noted that it is still illegal to cross state lines with marijuana, and it is still federally prohibited.
More Information: Washington DC MMJ Program
Currently, our Sunshine State does not allow medical marijuana cards from other states for purchase of cannabis products.
State Website: https://knowthefactsmmj.com/
Georgia has a “Low THC Oil” program that allows their state’s qualified residents to possess up to 20 fluid ounces of Low THC oil within the state. Regarding medical marijuana reciprocity, Georgia recognizes out-of-state certifications “if you lawfully possess a valid registration card issued by another state that allows the same possession of low THC oil as Georgia law and you have been in Georgia less than 45 days.”
Check with the state for the most up-to-date information: https://dph.georgia.gov/low-thc-oil-registry
Hawaii does not recognize out-of-state medical marijuana cardholders, but does allow out-of-state residents to apply for their own program. Those with serious or terminal conditions can get their applications fast-tracked. Out-of-state patients can get a 60-day Hawaii medical marijuana card and will be able to purchase medical cannabis from certified dispensaries in Hawaii as long as they’re certified in the medical cannabis program in their home state.
Out of state medical marijuana patients can’t purchase cannabis in Illinois dispensaries. This is the case even if they have a current/valid registration card from their home state. Only medical patients with a valid Illinois MMJ ID card are eligible to purchase medical cannabis from a state-licensed dispensary.
Check with the state for the most up-to-date information: https://dph.illinois.gov/topics-services/prevention-wellness/medical-cannabis/medical-cannabis-registry-application
Medical marijuana is currently legal in Iowa. Medical cannabis cardholders from other states are allowed to possess medical cannabis products in Iowa, provided that the products are in a form authorized by their law, BUT they are not allowed to make purchases. Only Iowa residents that are registered can make purchases at dispensaries.
Check with the state for the most up-to-date information: https://hhs.iowa.gov/omc/For-Law-Enforcement-and-Public-Safety
Louisiana passed a law in August 2022 that allows out of state medical marijuana patients to purchase their products in Louisiana while they are visiting.
Check with the state for the most up-to-date information: https://ldh.la.gov/page/4518
Maine currently honors qualified patients from the following states: Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Connecticut, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Iowa, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, Rhode Island, Utah, Virginia, Vermont, Washington, Washington, DC.
Maryland dispensaries do not recognize other state medical marijuana ID cards.
State Website: https://mmcc.maryland.gov/Pages/patients_faq.aspx
In Massachusetts, all adults over the age of 21 are legally allowed to use cannabis for recreational or medicinal purposes. The possession limits are a maximum of 1 ounce of cannabis flower and 5 grams of cannabis concentrate for adults with valid government-issued identification.
Anyone over the age of 21 can buy cannabis legally in Michigan, no matter what state or country you are from. Just show your valid driver’s license, passport, or state-issued I.D. to enter the dispensary.
Maryland dispensaries do not recognize other state medical marijuana ID cards.
Check with the state for the most up-to-date information: https://www.health.state.mn.us/people/cannabis/patients/registration.html
Mississippi regulations state that you, as a “temporary patient,” will have to register with the Mississippi Department of Health to purchase medical marijuana at a Mississippi dispensary.
Check with the state for the most up-to-date information: https://msdh.ms.gov/
State medical marijuana laws do not allow a patient with an out-of-state medical cannabis card or certification to possess medical marijuana in Missouri.
Yes, with restrictions. Montana offers reciprocity to out-of-state cardholders for possession and consumption. However, out-of-state cardholders are not permitted to shop at Montana dispensaries. If you plan on spending time in Montana, definitely contact their state office on how to obtain an ID card so you can purchase. Patients from other states must register with the Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services.
State Website: https://dphhs.mt.gov/index
Recreational marijuana became legal in Nevada in 2017, allowing adults 21 and older to purchase and consume cannabis for personal use. Previously, Nevada had legalized medical marijuana in 2000, and Nevada had reciprocity with all states.
In New Hampshire, medical marijuana patients from out of state are allowed to possess up to 2 ounces of usable cannabis, but are not permitted to purchase from local dispensaries. The patient must also have the same qualifying medical conditions that are listed in New Hampshire’s medical marijuana program.
State Website: https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/oos/tcp/
Individuals who are registered as patients under their states’ medical marijuana programs can receive reciprocity, or otherwise be considered to be qualifying patients, under New Jersey’s medical marijuana program for up to six months while they are visiting the state.
Visitors with a valid out-of-state medical marijuana card can also purchase medical marijuana from licensed dispensaries in New Jersey if they have received authorization from a New Jersey medical practitioner based on a medical condition that qualifies under New Jersey’s program.
Due to recently enacted changes concerning New Mexico’s Medical Cannabis Program, reciprocal participants will need to meet the following criteria in order to participate as a reciprocal participant in the State of New
Mexico Medical Cannabis Program:
- Present a government-issued proof of authorization
- Present a government-issued photo identification card
- Register electronically at a dispensary in order to track units of medical cannabis purchased
- Sign your electronic registration at the dispensary (dispensary staff cannot sign for you)
State Website: https://www.nmhealth.org/about/mcp/svcs/
North Dakota does not recognize other states’ medical marijuana cards. Without a valid North Dakota medical marijuana card, an individual in possession
of marijuana has no protections under the North Dakota medical marijuana laws.
State Website: https://www.ndhealth.gov/mm/
Currently, Ohio does not recognize medical marijuana registry cards issued in other states.
State Website: https://medicalmarijuana.ohio.gov/
Oklahoma will honor another active and valid state-issued medical marijuana license. Keep in mind, though, to qualify, a non-resident will have to get approval from an Oklahoma doctor and pay $100 for a license that would have to be approved by the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority.
Check with the state for the most up-to-date information: https://oklahoma.gov/omma/help/faqs.html#out-of-state-adult-and-minor
You’re okay in Oregon. They do not recognize out-of-state medical marijuana cards. But recreational marijuana is legal. Anyone over 21 can purchase cannabis. Make sure to check up on the possession limits.
Pennsylvania does not recognize medical marijuana registry cards issued in other states.
Check with the state for the most up-to-date information: https://www.pa.gov/guides/pennsylvania-medical-marijuana-program/
As long as patients bring their physical medical marijuana card with a government-issued ID card from the same state, visiting patients can have access to dispensaries in Rhode Island.
South Carolina’s medical cannabis program is clearing hurdles and passing votes. There should soon be more information on when exactly medical cannabis is legal in the Palmetto state.
According to their regulations of “Initiated Measure 26, ‘non-residents may use out-of-state registration cards.’ The measure notes that a nonresident cardholder must, ‘submit any documentation required by the department, and has to receive confirmation of registration.’
Texas has a “compassionate use program (CUP)” where citizens with approved medical conditions may qualify for Low-THC cannabis products. Per their website, “Low-THC comes from the plant Cannabis Sativa L. All parts of the plant and any resulting compounds, salts, resins, oils and derivatives that contain no more than 0.5 % by weight of THC are considered Low-THC. Medical use of these substances is limited to swallowing, not smoking, the prescribed dose of low-THC.”
Check with the state for the most up-to-date information: https://www.texas.gov/health-services/texas-medical-marijuana/
Utah requires patients to meet one of their own qualifying conditions in order to extend reciprocity. Those qualifying conditions can be viewed on their website: https://medicalcannabis.utah.gov/
Vermont legalized cannabis for recreational use in 2018 for adults over 21. They do not recognize out-of-state medical marijuana cards, although any adult with a valid ID may purchase cannabis from any dispensary.
Virginia does not recognize out-of-state medical marijuana patients.
Washington state legalized cannabis for recreational use. All adults that are at least 21 years old are able to purchase cannabis at retail sites across the state. please consult the state for the most recent possession/cultivation limits and the current list of approved conditions.
West Virginia only allows reciprocity for terminally ill cancer patients.
State Website: https://omc.wv.gov/Pages/default.aspx
Using Your Florida Medical Marijuana ID Card in Other States
Keep in mind that rules change often. The information provided here is only to get you started and may be updated/changed at any time. You should reach out to the state you are traveling to in order to confirm any rules. And please consult the state for the most recent possession/cultivation limits and the current list of approved conditions. Happy travels.